The Way I See Things

By JDO

Bouncing

So what do you do when your desk is covered with things that need doing more or less urgently, but you want to go out to play in the garden with the bugs - but there are no bugs because it's heaving down with rain and only about 5º, and the garden is a frigid swamp?

What you do is discover that it's imperative to find out immediately whether you can photograph marbles as you drop them into a glass of water, and spend an hour covering the conservatory with water and escaped marbles, followed by two hours culling the 307 photos you took (most of which are really quite easy to discard because they contain no trace of either marble or splash). It was actually quite good fun, after I'd convinced myself that the marbles weren't going to break the glass; it was a little nerve-racking at first though, and I did hold back on dropping the gobstoppers until I'd covered the bottom of the glass with smaller ones. I'm not convinced that this is the best photo from the set, but I was pleased to have captured the bounce.

Thank you to everyone who liked and/or commented on my photo of Lichfield Cathedral yesterday; I've now put an album here, if you'd like to see more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.