Trepidatious Journey!

We were going to visit Julia in her new house by travelling in my little MX-5. When we realised how much stuff we had to take, including Curtain Poles, Tools, Bedding for Marlane (I am using my camp bed and sleeping bag), blow up matteress, etc..... the MX-5 just didn't have the room.
So, we decided to take the little Suzuki Alto, not that it's a bad car but in all of it's 13 years of life the longest journey it's ever made is about 15 miles to Johannas' in the Forest of Dean. It was with some trepidation that we prepared, I checked I had the breakdown insurance number, checked the tyre pressures, oils, windscreen washer, coolant. Luckily it had not long ago had a service and replacement ball joints on the front as there was some knocking.
Set off at 0940, expected to have to stop 2 or 3 times due to the discomfort but I was incredibly surprised at the lack of discomfort. We didn't stop at all and made the journey in 3hr 20min. In the MX-5 it would have taken about 2hr 30min but we stuck to around 55mph all the way, following a Walkers Crisps truck for just over 100 miles before he turned off for Leicester!

Arrived in Sleaford, Lincolnshire, feeling pretty good and got started on putting up two blinds - that was the nightmare that I expected the journey to be HAHAHAHAHAHAHA I hate putting up roller blinds when you have to cut them to fit!

Looking forward to a night on my camp bed, good practice for Ypres end of May.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.