A Quilted Whale & A Volt

Dana came for dinner last night because Peter and Jim are still on their college exploratory tour. OilMan said he wanted a straight sided pan so it wouldn't splatter so much, and Dana said we could go to Corte Madera, the big shopping center in Marin County and get one...We can get one 15 minutes away  too, but I took her up on a trip to Corte Madera...because it's been so long since I've been shopping at Nordstrom that I'd collected $100 worth of Nordstrom Notes which I get for using my credit card but can only spend at the store.

Not surprisingly, we both came back with new shoes , Dana got some sunglasses and I got some pink jeans and a T-shirt, so we did pretty well for having no plan to purchase anything other than a frying pan sauté pan. We bought polish dogs at a slightly upscale hotdog stand and sat in the sun eating them and watching the Tesla sales guys, all younger than my sons, selling $75,000 electric cars. They certainly don't sell Teslas in the mall in Santa Rosa, although there are quite a few of them around town....

We went into Anthropoligie and while Dana tried on jeans, I took pictures of the quilted whale hanging from the ceiling. His picture is in the extras. Seems like the last time I was in there they had a life size papier mache elephant....

We got OilMan his pan and lugged it back to the car, also electric, a Chevy Volt, and drove home. Traffic was bad, but the views of the oak studded green hills provide a nice backdrop. I thought my picture of the freeway taken from the car was an interesting study in contrasts. Being the type to worry about such things, it was nice to know that the Volt has a backup fuel tank which we filled before we left. When the battery charge runs out, the car seamlessly switches to fuel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.