RosInAus

By RosInAus

Power To The People

I went from Northampton to a business meeting in Cambridge's Innovation Centre today and this bridge near the centre caught my eye. I like its elegant curves and the fact that it is an oasis of calm arching above the noisy and overloaded A14 road beneath. I also like that it has two lanes - one for cyclists, one for pedestrians - no motorised transport at all.

A plaque at the bridge's high point told me it is the 'Jane Coston Cycle Bridge' and a quick Google on getting home reveals that this lady began a petition in 1996 to have a bridge built for the safety of those living and working in the area who had to negotiate the A14 road. Her determination won out and the bridge opened in May 2004.

I really like true stories of so-called 'ordinary' people making big things happen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.