Borage, for Flower Friday

Borage - Borago officinalis - also known as Star flower.

I love growing borage in my vegetable garden - and it can help itself to the rest of the garden too if it wants.

I've been reading up on borage; 8 reasons to plant it ---

1. It's a heavenly shade of blue - I certainly agree with that.
2. You can eat it; flower and young leaves. Soups & salads. Add to Pimms!
3. Borage flowers are bee magnets.
4. Free chicken food - if you've got chickens, they'll love borage.
5. Companion plant for strawberries, squash & tomato.
6. Borage deters tomato hornworms and cabbage moths. 
7. Borage Oil is the richest known source of GLA - of an essential fatty acid called gamma-linolenic acid GLA. Borage oil can be useful for troubling skin conditions.
8. Mulch. 

So there you are - isn't it a heavenly blue!
Thanks to Biker Bear for hosting Flower Friday :)

Thank you so much for the overwhelming response to my 1500 blipday yesterday. Wow! You're such a wonderfully supportive lot of warm super people. I will answer all those comments, but in the meantime, please know I'm touched and delighted by all the response. And getting near the top of Popular P.1 was special thrill!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.