dailykeith

By dailykeith

Frigiliana

I'm in Andalucia for a couple of weeks on a holiday with a variety of purposes.

One week will be spent with friends at a language school in Málaga, three or four days will involve taking photographs near Córdoba for my long-running project on the Spanish Civil War, and this first few days is all about checking places where my wife and I might rent a property.

I've heard a lot of good things about the so-called 'white town' of Frigiliana, and very much enjoyed my visit there. It's a charming place high up in the hills with many of the houses inaccessible by car - just how I like it.

However, I had no idea that the Axarquia region east of Málaga was so heavily populated by Britons - either as long-term residents or visiting tourists.

If I was to live in these parts, it would have to be in a truly Spanish community, speaking Spanish and enjoying the Spanish culture.

Although I've had a good time so far, it has nevertheless been thoroughly depressing witnessing so many Britons making no effort whatsoever to communicate with their hosts in Spanish. Not even a Hola or Gracias. It's embarrassing, and I couldn't put up with that on a long-term basis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.