Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Flash back

Do you ever have a moment when the light, temperature, environment and view fall together and remind you of a moment in your past? 

That happened to me today on Borough Market.

It was the light and the canopies that brought the memories back.

My father took me to the grocers in Larbert, Stirlingshire to buy yoghurt. I was very small, I remember that, plus I know that Ski was introduced into the UK market in 1963, so I guess I would have been 3 or 4 years old.

I remember this occasion for three reasons: firstly the light, secondly because it was possibly the only time my dad took me out on my own when I was small. The third reason was that my dad was English and the Scots sometimes had trouble understanding his accent. When he asked for "Yog fruit" they brought him dog food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.