digitaldave

By DigitalDave

St. George's Minster, Doncaster

Today, on a lovely sunny spring day, I ventured into the People's Republic of South Yorkshire for a brief visit to Doncaster.
This is the rather impressive Minster. Sadly, it seems to be surrounded by examples of 60s and 70s town planning disasters, being isolated and within a stone's throw of busy carriageways and concrete monstrosities. There is another shot in the first extra.
I did wander around the city and it is not all bad news. There is a very lively open-air market and also there are some old and interesting looking buildings if one ventures a short distance from the centre.
I paid a visit to the museum and art gallery which was well worth looking at. Today's second extra is of the museum itself. To me, it is a classic example of 70's architecture, but one of the better examples which I like. It is good to see it has not been torn down or left to deteriorate. 

I'm now safely back in North Yorkshire :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.