Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

DIY filters (EP3)

Last week's challenge wasn't easy. Many of us (including me) had first to get acquainted with a function of our cameras we don't work with normally. Then we had to figure out what types of images can be combined, compose the double exposure mentally and finally go out and shoot it. I am amazed at the works of art you contributed. I have learned a lot from you. Hearts for EP2 will be awarded on Monday, March 27th. 

This week's challenge will be more playful: Use any type of transparent or semi-transparent material as filters to produce special effects. There are loads of ideas on the internet, but I suggest you simply try whatever you have available in and around your house, hold it in front of your lens and click away. You will find that some kinds of materials work better with certain subjects than others. And sometimes you may need to switch to manual focus.

For today's blip, I took the upper half of a plastic Coke-bottle (the 1-litre version), stuck my camera's lens into it and pointed it at my wife's beautiful lips. The extra shows our cat Tom, photgraphed with the same filter. 

This week's challenge: DIY filters
Tag: EP3
Go for: Artistic impression.
Heartdonor: My wife Carla 

You can publish your contribution on any day until Saturday, April 1st. Don't forget to tag it with EP3. 
The next challenge will be published on April 1st (suggestions are always welcome). Hearts for this challenge will be awarded on Monday, April 3rd.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.