Great Blue Heron

I have been seeing the Blue Herons flying over my house quite regularly for a few days, so I thought I would go over to the area where they built nests last year. Sure enough I saw one building a nest right away, then another and another. I clearly saw 7 nests as I set up my tripod; my blipped Heron was the last one I saw and he/she was standing clearly in the sunlight, but you can barely see the big nest. I added extras of a  clearer view of the nest. It is interesting that the Herons build their nest in the wide open branches that might criss-cross from two different trees. It doesn't seem all that sturdy to me, but they seem to survive quite well. The Herons were calling to each other and I could hear calls coming from all around the forest. This stand of Firs is on the same Rock Creek that flows under the Eagles nest......both areas have a widening of the creek that looks like a small pond. I can walk on a path along the creek from my house.....one direction to Bethany Lake and  the Eagles nest and the other direction to the Heron's Rookery. There is actually a tunnel under the Freeway along the creek toward the Heron's nests. 

I stopped by to see if Mama Eagle was in the nest AND she was there; I think she was there yesterday but scooted down because once I saw the Eagle put her head down and she disappeared today. 

Thanks for visiting. I will probably see you tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.