I've never been so glad.....

To find a hotel in my life!!

This is a back blip....yesterday we started driving at 6:30 a.m. without a plan, and ended up 565 miles later in Safford AZ.

Along the way we saw ancient ruins, the latest modern technology, and some of the most beautiful scenery I've ever seen when I was brave enough to open my eyes!!! (See extras).  We nearly ran into a herd of elk on a mountain road where the speed limit was 10mph for 11 miles....then we rounded a bend higher up and almost hit a cow!

The biggest surprise was rounding a bend of pristine mountain beauty and falling into a science fiction scene....we didn't realize we were going to drive through the largest open-pit mine in Arizona.

All that white-knuckle driving (4 hours to go 100 miles) was rewarded by the most magnificent sunset and a perfect hotel!!

I hit the bed and never heard a thing for 8 hours....now it's on to more adventures!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.