West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

I can do it!

Although I spent all day visiting Anuradhapura historic city and have many photos of temples and ruins, my blip has to be this baby Grey Langur striking out on his or her own, under mum’s supervision – well it is mother’s day.

I think it got up to 35 or 36 degrees Celsius today and I hired a bicycle to get around the monuments. They’re scattered over a large area but it’s mostly flat. Anuradhapura was the capital city and construction started on the buildings around 161BC. Most of what’s there today has been rebuilt numerous times since then. I’ve put a couple of the temples in the extras. The reddish one is the Jetavanarama Dagoba. It’s made of more than 93 million bricks and when it was built was the third tallest monument in the world (after the pyramids). The white one is the Ruwanwelisaya Dagoba with the sun directly behind it. While I was there, a religious ceremony started. The Grey Langurs were just outside this temple.


Also in the extras are another, slightly older, baby Grey Langur and a puppy outside a different temple. I might have been bitten by a Sri Lankan street dog but it doesn’t stop me wanting to round most of them up and take them to a vet – most, like this poor puppy, have horrible skin conditions that I’m pretty sure could be easily treated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.