An Architect's Love Song

If I were a painter I’d paint your picture
If I were a singer I would sing
If I were an entomologist I’d name a butterfly after you
And if I were a bee I wouldn’t sting

An architect has none of these abilities
I can’t sing or swing or plead or please or play
If I want to tell you how I feel about you
I’ll have to do it in an architectural way

I will build you a tower (a soaring, skyscraping symbol of my love)
I will build you a tower (better than a bunch of flowers)
Babel beating, heaven meeting (gravity cheating, spaceman greeting)
I will build you a tower

If I were a poet I’d write a poem praising you
If I weren’t fat I would be thin
If I were an optimist I’d still believe that we stood a chance
If I weren’t a cynic I wouldn’t sin

An architect has none of these abilities
I can’t tell or talk or spout or speak or say
If I want to tell you how I feel about you
I’ll have to do it in an architectural way

I will build a bridge between us
I will build a bridge between us
Amazon shaming, Father Thames taming
I will build a bridge between us

(Guitar)

If I were a schoolboy I’d write a schoolboy note to you
Or tell my friends to tell your friends to tell you
If I were a young blade I’d have a stab at asking you
If I were an old dog,I’d lick your hand and smell you

An architect has none of these abilities
I’m too sad and fat and old and bald and grey
If I want to tell you how I feel about you
I’ll have to do it in an architectural way

I will build a wall around us
I will build a wall around us
Others on the outside, you and I inside
I will build a wall around us

(an old song)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.