JoolzFawcett

By JoolzF

Worthington Round House

Yesterday's blip was of a triangular building. Today I am posting an octagonal one.

It was another day working in Derby, and for a change I had the car with me. G was going to the theatre with friends in the evening, leaving me to my own devices, so I decided to take a scenic route home. I stopped in the Leicestershire village of Worthington to take a photo of its 18th century parish lock-up.

Although it is actually octagonal it is now known as the Round House. There are quite a few village lock-ups in England and Wales. They mostly date from the 18th or 19th centuries before county police authorities were established, when it was the responsibility of parish constables to apprehend offenders and secure them temporarily in the lock-up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.