There's Something About ....

.... capable, ginger-bearded, young men. :) One shouldn't generalise but they seem to be sensitive souls.

Last weekend my daughter's dear ginger-bearded mate Dan sorted the bonnet catch on her car and threw his MX5 consummately round the track.

My daughter and I had a Mothering Sunday mini-meet in our S2000s. Somehow the people at the garage who had cleaned her 'best' S2K for the occasion had dislodged the rear-view mirror. After some very light shopping in Chelmsford we headed out into the wilds of Essex down a single-track road to her petrolhead mate Geoff's. He was busy working on his motorbike but kindly spent some time trying to repair her mirror. It couldn't be done as a spring is missing. We very much enjoyed spending time and talking motors with him. While we were chatting three red kites wheeled overhead.

The soundtrack home "on my way, driving at 90 down those country lanes" wasn't Tiny Dancer but provided by another capable young bearded ginge, Ed Sheeran. His album Divide was a Mothering Sunday gift. I've yet to listen to Aline, a French group, whose CD arrived in the post, a present from my son in Spain.

Today's poem is from A Shropshire Lad XL by A.E. Housman. https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/shropshire-lad-xl


So that's where "blue remembered hills" comes from. Evidently A Shropshire Lad is full of homosexual references and infused with thwarted longing and nostalgia and is an expression of Housman's love for Moses Jackson, who he met at Oxford.

PS. I got my poetry days muddled owing to backblipping. I erroneously had this as the poem for 25th March.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.