bivvy #3

I had planned my March bivvy to be on the beach. because the car wouldn't start,I couldn't leave until D arrived home from Glasgow (he had been at the SECC all day at a yoga show). He wasn't back until 7pm, so there wasn't much time for chit chat, I had to be off asap before it got dark.

I left the car at Carsethorn, outside the pub, and walked along the beach until I found a suitable place to sleep - no rocks, water or sharp objects, and away from any habitation. About a mile from the village, I found a nice grassy place (see extra) which I thought would do nicely (and it did, although my experience of bivvying so far has taught me that the world is definitely not flat! ).

I lay down and watched the sky grow dark and the stars appear and then I fell asleep. I was woken this morning by the sound of a tractor in a field nearby. It was about 5.30 and still dark, but I was facing the Eastern horizon and it was just faintly pink, so I got my camera out and waited. This photo was taken just before 6am. I haven't done anything with the colours, I promise - all as it was.

At 6.30 it was light enough to see so I packed up and walked south to Powillimount before turning back. In Dumfries I visited the garage, and Alan, the owner, said he would come out and look at the car. Then to fetch my sewing machine from Abbey, who was so pleased with the photo I'd taken of him that he refused payment.

The world seems a nice place today :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.