Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Sunday 26th Mar 2017 12:14

Sunrise – 07:20   Sunset – 19:43   Moon – Day 28
Extras
09-06   11:16
16:00   19:31

The almanac pays no heed to daylight saving time and so I had to decide whether to adhere to the book and not adjust the clock on the camera or whether to drag the almanac into the third millennium. I decided on the latter and I hope I don't live to regret it.

Here in the open waters of the Aegean we do not have tides to speak of, though I hear that there is a reversible current at the Euripus Strait. But having begun my life close to the Thames estuary I am only too familiar with significant tides. What I do not know is whether British tide schedules incorporate British Summer Time or if they are all printed in GMT just to confuse non-locals.

A promising start to the day which then clouded over rather dramatically.
The almond leaves are a little larger this week giving the trees a more substantial appearance and the Judas trees are beginning to kick off. The one just up the hill behind my left shoulder is doing its usual big pink thing. It is the largest, earliest and most exuberant of all the Judas trees in this valley but the others will follow along shortly. They are just beginning to become visible beside the bottom road; about one third in from the left of this image and across the way from some larger tufty dark green trees. I hope they will be more visible a week from now.

This time next week I will be on my annual travels and so today is the last Sunday I will stand on this spot until Easter. My travels are not deliberately timed to miss the most exciting time of the year florally, it just happens that way and so I think I may have to show you next Saturday before I leave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.