Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

Wake up, you sleepy head!

I have been trying ALL summer to take a decent close-up photo of a common carder bee Bombus pascuorum. Unfortunately, however, for my photographic ambitions, this species of bee is somewhat hyperactive. They settle lightly on flowers for a second or two only, making it almost impossible for me to focus and photograph. As such, I was mildly pleased this morning, returning from a very early run, to find this common carder bee moving very slowly and clumsily around a lamb's-ear flower spike in my garden. So, I rushed indoors to collect my phone (camera) and the bee was still there when I came back. I suspect the very cool temperature overnight had left it in a torpor. It is a very "hairy" bumblebee and you can see lots of pollen grains stuck to it. Pleased to capture this one for my photographic bee "zoo"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.