Musings

By Mumma

Links

I was by the post office again, and I had some slight issue that made me pause in the street, a slipping sock, or needing to put my heavy bag down a moment, and right in front of me was this sign. I have never noticed it before, though it isn't small, and I use the post office often. Just before I moved into town, the Parish of St Peter put up a statue to George de Carteret, on the roadside by a pub, under a tree. I used to wave at him whilst I drove home.

George de Carteret sheltered Charles II. He had something to do with Charles II being declared King, in Jersey, after his father was beheaded by Roundheads in England. This is not to say that Jersey was Royalist, far from it, at one point the Royalist supporters had to flee to Elizabeth Castle to take refuge from the Roundhead supporters, perhaps why Charles II did not remain in Jersey. At any rate, Charles rewarded George by giving him lands in the Americas. He gave them away to people wanting land to build a society on, and in gratitude they called the land 'New Jersey'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.