This big bumble bee...

...keeps visiting me in my potting shed. Along with wasps! But the bumblebee looks so delightful and cuddly.

So he was the subject for today. He looked easy to do, but he is in and out in a few seconds, unlike wasps who want to explore every cavity in the potting shed.

The top one was the first one I did. I scribbled the yellow first, then I had no idea how to tackle the rest. A few minutes later, I got the pale grey, did the bits that were going to be black, and it just flowed from there. Then did a bit of orange to highlight the yellow ruff, but it started looking like a lion's mane! Then black, then biro for the wings. But I wasn't happy with the wings.

So after a cuppa, I did him again, exactly the same way, but no biro for the wings, just grey and black felt tip. Took less than five minutes. But instead of a cuddly bee, he looks of more character and slightly intent...

Materials used:
Yellow felt tip
Orange felt tip
Light grey felt tip
Black felt tip
And black biro in the first one

So this is my entry for a pic a day every day in 2017, my personal challenge to myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.