Piazza Carlo Alberto

It would have been easy to copy the section from Wikipedia giving all the information about this Piazza, but it only appears in the Italian edition. The gentleman on the horse is obviously Carlo Alberto, king of Sardinia. The building in front of the statue is one of the royal palaces of Turin, Palazzo Carignano. Carlo Alberto died in 1849. Italy became a nation under the House of Savoy in 1861, and Turin became the capital of Italy.

I had a long walk around "Royal" Turin today, but as I was in company I felt it inopportune to keep stopping for photographs. I may retrace some of my steps tomorrow for a few more royal places.

The statue is in the same style as that of yesterday. In fact if I am not mistaken it was made by the same artist. This one is if anything even more impressive.

How to dress for the weather is a problem still to be resolved. In the early morning it is cold, only 3 degrees when I went out for my first coffee. By the afternoon it was 20 degrees. A return to the hotel to shed some layers during the day is something of a necessity!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.