Intriguing.......

Over the last few weeks we've lived in damp conditions, fog, rain and heavy dews. I've noticed small white patches appearing over shady parts of our lawn and it's left me wondering.....

Today I took the macro lens to one of these white patches and was totally amazed to see what look like tiny white eggs. What insect could these belong to? Are they eggs?

After much research I've discovered it is Slime Mold.  Slime molds occasionally appear on lawns as egg or crystal like growths on grass blades. They can be of various colours; white, yellow, orange, grey and others and tend to appear in wet conditions or shaded areas of lawns. Slime molds may cause concern but rarely do any harm to the grass. Only if the area of mould becomes extensive will it damage the grass by shading it from light.

So not tiny eggs but classed as fungi. In my extra's I have some black ones, these were white but have matured, soft and slimy to touch.

So perhaps not a pretty blip but more of an interesting blip - I hope.

Wednesday.....another grey, foggy day, damp again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.