Gettysburg

Since we have last been to Gettysburg...they have a new huge visitors center. Very well done. Almost pretty.

We shelled out a few dollars (11.50 each) to see the new movie narrated by Morgan Freeman, the old Cyclorama, and the new history center. Again...very well done.

We started on our auto tour using the CD that we bought six years ago. Mike, the author and narrator...told me to follow the blue arrow signs. Come to find out...the blue arrows signs were for the blue detour. I quickly left the city, and was just about to start counting cows when we got turned around.

Let the auto tour begin! The author used one of my wifes favorite history expressions. "Can you imagine standing on this bluff, and seeing 2000 enemy soldiers advancing?"

I had a question for the author. "Can you imagine paying $19.95 for this CD six years ago...and start having you sound like Mush Mouth by the 3rd stop?" Luckily, he cleared up.

The battlefield is huge, and very spread out. Unlike my wife...I have trouble imagining. But...I do love all the bronze statues, and the memorials.

The sheer numbers of the dead are what overwhelm me. 3100 from the North, 4700 from the South. In 3 days time. Adding the wounded and missing...it was 23000 from the North, 28000 from the South. Staggering. While I have trouble picturing the battle...I can picture the body of a young man laying dead on the very rocks I am climbing on. Trying to gain the high ground.

We are staying in Allentown, Pennsylvania. If you like Billly Joel...he sang a song about it. About 2 hours before we stopped...I think Hurricane Isaac caught up with us. A driving rain. I made my sister drive right before it started. The forecast is not looking good.

This is Dad, Sis, and Lisa in front of the Virginia Monument. I put a few more shots on my Flickr page. Hope to catch up later. It is now pushing 11 p.m., and I must lay my head down to rest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.