Only Love Can Bring the Rain

Only love
Can bring the rain
That makes you yearn to the sky
Only love
Can bring the rain
That falls like tears from on high

-The Who, Love Reign O'er Me

Is there anything more wonderful than a gentle spring rain?

I was driving to work on this morning in a light drizzle that turned into a bit more of a real rain just as I stopped my car and got out to take a few pictures.

I opened my big umbrella and grabbed my camera, and then I wandered along Spring Creek for just a few minutes, enjoying the sweet earthy smells and the gentle sounds of the raindrops pitter-pattering on the surface of the water. 

Each raindrop elicited tiny waves of liquid motion. Rings within rings, extending outward, hitting other waves, bouncing back, making patterns on the surface.

It was soothing, hypnotic, enchanting. I took too many pictures. I could not help myself.

I am a girl who loves the rain.

Some of my favorite songs are about the rain, and so I'm including more than one song to accompany this image of raindrops on water. (You're welcome! ENJOY!)

First is the Who classic, Love Reign O'er Me, from which the lyrics above are taken. I'm also including marvelous covers by Pearl Jam and Heart (watch till the end to see Nancy smashing a perfectly good guitar).

Second is the Doors, with Riders on the Storm, which includes some of the most beautiful rain sounds I have ever heard in a song.

And third is Ladysmith Black Mombazo, with Rain, Rain, Beautiful Rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.