India Day 5: Jaipur

Fighting with your loved one / travel partner while on holiday is the worst. For one, fighting is never great and two, it's the best way to wreck a vacation.

Bob and I stayed in the whole day after a huge argument. Eventually, we got back to our senses. But much of the day had been wasted. Really wanted to visit the Jantar Mantar here. And whatever locations that were used in filming the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. That and the stepwell used in the Dark Knight Rises prison scenes will have to wait. The stepwell is too far out of town, anyway. We used to time to understand the railway system here better and learn how the railway catering service works.

One can log into the same system as used for buying train tickets to access possible catering services. One logs into their journey, and a list of locations and times appears. Choose a location and a list of vendors is made available, choose one and their menu appears. Order and select to pay by card or upon delivery (we chose the latter). So, it's my understanding that the food ordered will be delivered to my seat, by the vendor, when my train arrives at the chosen station. Something about that is cool! Not wanting to go hungry again like two nights ago, Bob and I order food for the rest of our journeys. Not fun feeling sorry for oneself due to being hungry.

As night falls, we take an Uber out to the market district to hopefully get some souvenirs. A place called Bapu Bazaar. The place is supposedly famed for its textiles, but I didn't see anything I liked for myself. Bob wanted to survey. We left after walking past countless saree stores. While waiting for our Uber back, I decided to take a picture of this stores wares: gorgeously hand embroidered tote bags, pouches and cushion covers. They really were very pretty and I'd have bought them for some friends, but I guess I wasn't in the mood. I must have been miffed about being so close to the sights, but not seeing them.

We've decided to salvage Jaipur with an early morning visit to the Amber Palace Fort tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.