Dad

Exception to my nature scenes. Visiting my dad today.
Fragile, feeling cold, he seemed so tiny and thin after having a hard diarrhea a couple of weeks ago. A norovirus.

I did not dare to visit him before my work trip to Lisbon.

There he was. Smiling to me, but keeping the dementia ward in their toes. Dad can be mixed up but he always has been demanding and bossy, and he still is... So the nurses asked me to do a favour and try to make my dad go to the shower. He was also in dirty clothes and would not change in any way.

So he got his dinner and over it we chatted about my journey to Lisbon and I showed him some photos of aeroplanes and one video from Paris airport. He had a good time, being so proud of me. I know it, he always has been so couraging towards me. And as he was in the good mood I asked him to go to the shower after the meal - with the nurse helping him...

And he got a big 200g bar of chocolate after dressed up into the clean clothes.
Happy in the blip afterwards.

I was so tired as I got back home. This disease makes me silent.. I so well remember my grandmother (dad's mother) having alzheimer's disease. And now dad. I wonder when it is my turn...

Oh well. Never mind me.
We all got the time and place. Let's make the best of it.

Susanna

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.