Starboard

I needed to go over to Cape Clear today and the weather was not the best, in fact it was shite. Got there a bit green, bumped into a few familiar faces. J the local librarian greeted me with glee as she had a humungous old printer which was taking up loads of space in her tiny library and I was just the man to take it away with me. I paled beneath my shade of green at the sight and could already see the headlines. Promising photographer crushed in bizarre ferry-printer related incident. One hernia later, we turfed it into the boot of her car in the rain. 'Now sure', she said, 'you drive it over, leave the car there and I'll pick it up later'.
Island cars are a breed of their own. Reverse involved much eye-popping effort and grunting and when it went forward it emitted screaming sounds last heard during the Spanish Inquisition. I negotiated the slippery pier and with a lot of help the ancient wonder of the printer world regained the mainland. I'm wrecked.
Day out with the buoys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.