Poet In The Trees

At Edinburgh Park, the management of the business park hide poets among the young trees by the gogarburn which runs between. the office buildings. Here's Edwin Morgan gazing across the burn to the continuing tramworks.

Edwin Morgan

A human head would never do
under the mists and rain or tugged
by ruthless winds or whipped with leaves
from raving trees. But who is he
in bronze, who is the moveless one?
The poet laughed, It isn't me.
It's nearly me, but I am free
to dodge the showers or revel in them,
to walk alleys under stars
or waken where the blackbirds are.
Some day my veins will turn to bronze
and I can't hear, or make, a song.
Then indeed I shall be my head
staring ahead, or so it seems,
but you may find me watching you,
dear traveller, or wheeling round
into your dreams

Edwin Morgan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.