Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Well Fed Fox

A squawk in the night........!

As soon as I took this shot at first light from the balcony she looked up and trotted off or should I say waddled?! Scarpered, more like and why wouldn't she? She'd had a chicken dinner the night before!

I was only commenting on blip this week that we had had this chicken for a long time (12 years, I had to check my diary here) and it was still laying! Well it isn't now!!

We've never kept a chicken for so long - she was the mate of David Peckham Chickens and had outlived a few eras of fancy chucks. She was old and hobbling and had obviously not put herself to bed in the coop as usual but chosen to roost under a shrub in the garden. (We are not waging the Battle of Britain here counting them out and counting them back.) I did hear a squawk in the night but too late! Possibly a blessing in disguise really!

I will miss her as she used to sit outside on the utility doorstep and come in to scrounge the birdfood she knew was kept there in a cupboard.

As for Freddy she has brought up four cubs this spring who were the cutest and I don't begrudge her just one meal this time. Trying to be stoic here!

My Combine hit the spotlight yesterday - huge thank yous to everyone - so appreciated!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.