Wooden robot terrace

Another day is dragged into existence. I get to the office early to get ready for a new class and have a conversation with a client in Ireland. The global village, indeed.

At 5:00 I head downtown. The Wooden Robot bar is crowded. I have a very nice pint of pale ale on their terrace, basking in the early evening sun surrounded by warbling strangers.

Around the corner is a Korean 'fusion' place called Seoul Food. "It's not Korean or BBQ" explains Drew, my waiter, "it's a fusion of both." Unenlightened, and frankly incomprehending, I order Fiery Squid Kim Bap ("NOT SUSHI" proclaims the menu) and collard greens. It may not be sushi, but it's very similar - and very nice.

Still feeling adventurous I order Sriracha Cracklins and get a bowl of deep fried pork skin, dusted with sweet, tangy spices. This is really good. For afters, I try Green Tea Ice Cream with Fried Biscuits, where 'biscuit' turns out to mean mini doughnut. Yum.

I drop into the ABC next door and load up on NC Single Malt Whisky. Just because. Now I'm committed to putting a bag in the hold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.