Third_eye

By Third_eye

Fairyland revisited

Thanks so much everybody for your kind words on my visit to Fairyland.
While there I took the opportunity to revise a little pome wot I rote earlier. My apologies if you have seen this before, here or elsewhere.

The Cottingley Fairies prompted many artists and writers to use the theme, including the then famous singer Bea Lillie who performed the song "Fairies at the Bottom of my Garden", later recorded by other artistes.

There's a fairy at the bottom of my dustbin,
She's been there all the winter I declare.
She looks oh so forlorn with her pretty dress all torn
And a kipper bone entangled in her hair.

She first climbed in because the rain was falling
And she could not afford a pair of shoes
And as it isn't cricket to expect a girl to stick it,
What other course of action could she choose?

If only she had married that kind pixie
Who asked he to consent to be his wife
He would have made some bootees to warm her little footies
And kept the poor soul soled for all her life.

Yes, that fairy still has refuge in my refuse
I visit her when e'er I get a chance
But people of all stations think I have hallucinations
And look and blink, then wink and look askance!


Thank you for your kind applause. Donations please to the Fairy Relief fund.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.