Leopard

* For a closer look, click here *[/b]


Today I made a picture in the Blijdorp Zoo in Rotterdam. The Zoo exists 155 years so there are all kind of activities planned. But I didn't came for that. I wanted to make pictures of a leopard.

There are two things important when you want picture predators. You must be patient and have some luck. I had both. I came rather early in the morning, the light was beautiful and one of the leopards awake.

The panther or leopard can be found in rainforest, plains, mountains and even in deserts and cold forests. There are many species which vary in size, color and markings. The most northerly is the Amur Panther.

Largest and rarest.

The Amur panther lives in inaccessible cold deciduous forests, hiding behind trees and rocks and in ravines. Males can weigh 80 kilos and at 150 cm long are among the largest panthers.
For years the Amur panther was killed for its fur or to protect livestock. Since being protected their numbers are increasing slowly. Blijdorp works with other zoos to breed the Amur panther (source: Blijdorp Zoo).

So what do you say reading about the leopards behavior (hiding)? I had all the luck of the world ... yes ... I know ... ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.