Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Inspiration

My inspiration for painting weathered textures started with watercolours and two excellent volumes by Richard Bolton; Weathered Texture Workshop and Painting Weathered Textures in Watercolour.  I am still inspired by his work when I pick up the volumes nearly 40 years after I bought them.  Bolton has a superb eye for recreating decay and weathering, better than any other artist of his ilk.  I use  his watercolour techniques on my 3D equivalents.  

This pic shows the wall of the village hall with two coats of colour, light grey on base brown with a dark blue on top.  As I wash and scrape these colours away to give a depth of decay I'll add light wet strokes and dry powders to give an impression of detail.  There are a few hours of layering ahead!  If I get it right the finished article will look like the buildings in yesterday's Blip.

You can see the weathered effects in this wet and dry brushed ships hull and stone walls from an earlier Blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.