Snakes Head

Fritllaria meleagris, aka Snakeshead Fritillary, a good garden plant, especially in places that don't get too dry in summer.  I have a friend on the edge of Broadland whose garden has a naturally high water table, where this plant seeds around like a weed ..... what a fabulous weed!

Here I can keep it going in the shadier parts of the garden and it has seeded but not profusely.  It can get ravaged by Lily Beetle which I am now on red alert for.  

Planting time on the allotment.  Peas germinating, onions sprouting, first signs of asparagus and today I put in first early potatoes, shallots, garlic and seed of carrot and leek.  The new season underway but I also brought leeks back with me and we are still eating last years onions and spuds :-)

People sometimes comment how lovely my garden must look, with all the different flowers I blip.  Well, you may have noticed I usually get in close and focus on the little beauties.  It avoids catching the messy background, the weeds, the work as yet undone.  

Friday Philosophy:
A secret for happiness.  Focus on the good bits in life and celebrate them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.