NewDelftBlue

By hjarald

April Fools Day or Not?

You can imagine my astonishment when I saw this traffic sign stating ‘No Cycling during Storm’ as I had never ever seen a similar sign before.

Now today is April first and thats a notorious day for practical jokes so here’s the question for you…

Is this for real or did I just do a handsome photoshop job? (The answer is at the bottom of this write up ;-))

Now for something completely different: Notice the chalets on the top of the flats?
They haven’t always been there. 

Actually these flats were built looking like any standard dull 70’s flats you can see anywhere in Holland or anywhere in the world for that matter.

Some years ago these almost 50 year old flats were renovated and the facing was upgraded with new enlarged balconies, square frames accenting some of them and… best of all

Adding two stories of new roof apartments varied with Swiss chalets creating a totally different skyline! Quite an improvement compared to the original design.

Now for the answer to my previous question: I didn’t photoshop anything as the photo in the extra will prove. I just happened to pass the buildings when the municipality was installing the signpost.

Reason: the two separate flats are built right angled to each other thus creating a funnel for the wind and many people have been unexpectedly blown off their bikes ever since. Reason to design this special warning sign for cyclists.

Happy aprils fool day!

Photo & Info: Newdelftblue by Hjarald Agnes

PS. Want any of my prints on your wall? Color version and B&W available too! Just contact me at: hjarald@me.com

Best viewed in LARGE mode
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.