Dutch tales

By ThisIsGerda

Quick shot in town

After work I decided on a quick visit to my local bookstore to buy a book. This week is national bookweek. With the purchase of 12,50 Euro worth of books, one little book is added for free. That little book, 100 pages, is a new story by a Dutch author (most of the time, one time it was by Salman Rushdie, oddly enough). Every author considers it a privilege to be the author of this gift book.

I sometimes have an idea what to buy, not always. I like to surprise myself. ;-) I do always buy a book by a Dutch author. I consider this week as a support of Dutch authors and books.

Today I bought a history book, about two aristocratic sisters, born in 1866 /1868 who lead an unusual life, not as a doting wife (only), but having an life of independency, with their own fulfilments. The book is based on diaries and letters, written by both sisters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.