Qu'est-ce que je fais ?

By waitingforgodot

Parnassus Heights

I should learn to copy and save the text I write here, as I just lost several paragraphs when I decided to change my photo. I didn't expect the application to reset...

Oh, well...

I took a train to the other side of Buena Vista Heights in order to more quickly get to an area that I have rarely (and only briefly) visited since I moved here. Because I wanted to get home in order to make a phone call back east before it got too late, I only spent about an hour exploring before heading home.

"Do not wish to be anything but what you are, and be that perfectly."

So said (supposedly) Francis of Assisi... I'm not one to regularly post inspirational quotes with my photos, or anywhere for that matter, but I couldn't think of anything particularly clever as a title for this. I grew up Catholic but am now an atheist; still, I remain pretty fascinated with religious iconography, at least from a photographic standpoint. While this is certainly a mass-produced statuette, I honour the hands which created its prototype; I honour the heart of the person might have been so worshipful and devoted to have crafted it. I have a similar reverence for old, old churches, whose bricks and stones and rosetta windows were likely created, assembled, cemented by members of their congregations.

I don't know if I'm being what I am perfectly, but there are days I like to believe that I am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.