Early this morning...

...I saw a Jay for the first time ever. There was something moving in the rain in the reddish coloured willow. So I went to the window and realised it was a bird. It had a sort of blue stripe on the edge of its wing. Otherwise it blended in with the reddish willow stems. So I looked it up, and found out that this was probably the culprit for all my baby acorn trees. Apparently the Jay buries acorns.

I have a few oak trees in my property, but they are all stumps from many years ago, and since I came here, they began sprouting branches, and oak galls on those branches, but never any acorns. I was blaming squirrels for the oak seedlings, but to be honest I have never seen any squirrels. So maybe it was the Jay.

I am feeling better today (after my tooth out on Thursday), but still sleeping a lot. The weather app tells me sun all day tomorrow, so it had better not break its promise, because I am looking forward to a day sitting in the garden. I will enter this for admirer's Silly Saturday challenge because I am expecting the weather app to keep its sunny promise!

Just a little one today.
Encaustic wax. 6 by 4 inches on card. I did finally try my new soldering iron, which was for candles, on my wax painting today. I used the round circular end for the moon. I took a few attempts to get that moon. I was expecting the hot disc shape to take out the wax, and leave the white paper underneath. But it didn't. So in the end, I put a tiny bit of white wax on, because I didn't want a fully white moon. And this was the result, which I liked.

So this is my pic for day for my challenge to myself of a pic a day every day in 2017.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.