Preparing For the Road

Since seeing the traction engine on Friday I have seen a couple of others. I suspected that there was a rally somewhere in the district so this morning I set out to search for them. Just as well today is the first day of Standard Time, which made it easy to be up early. Nevertheless, by the time I’d found them in the grounds of the Sheffield Pub some had already left, including the bright yellow truck I saw tootling around yesterday.

Apparently there were about 15 steam vehicles that stayed the weekend, and went on a tour of the narrow roads in the Malvern Hills. I’d loved to have seen that. Most of the steam engines I have seen have been agricultural, so I was taken by several non-agriculture engines. The one on the right of this shot is the Burrell Road Locomotive (see the first extra, note the spare chimney extension). There was another Burrell locomotive called May Queen (see second extra). The steam lorry advertising Rayburn Cookers (my trusty stove) also took my fancy. It is a Super Sentinel Steam Wagon (see third extra). I liked the tongue and groove timber cab. On its tray it carried bags of fuel and a large metal crate-enclosed plastic water tank. In tow is a wooden caravan, a bit more modern than the other wood caravans I saw.

Although it was rather smokey among the engines most were burning wood instead of coal.

Best seen full screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.