First and last!

It was my first mum2mum sale in Hungerford today, we left the house early at 8am partly because of the M4 crazy road closure and being diverted practically right past our house! all was a bit slower but we made it.

We set up and the sellers all arrived to set up, everyone loved the new venue and got settled in. Home start West Berks were doing the refreshments and brought some amazing home made cakes with them. I *may* have eaten a rather lovely red velvet cupcake with a cup of tea!

We had a nice queue and then a steady flow of buyers through the door - it was pretty nerve wracking seeing if people would turn up but they did (with a few breaks in them arriving) but it was a lovely buzzy sale. Sellers sold lots and were happy. My sale successor came too with her little girl and was impressed which is great.

T took C&R off to a special dads event at the local children centre for a play during part of the sale and then they all came back to buy some things(!) and help tidy up. I was exhausted and relieved by the end. It felt weird that it had been my last sale in charge, I have loved running them this past year and really enjoyed it - I love the banter with the buyers as they come through the door in search of bargains with their little ones but the time is right for me to return to academic publishing and a slightly better paid freelancing lifestyle for R and I.

We went for a lovely pub lunch afterwards to celebrate and then crashed out at home with cupcakes! A job well done I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.