Diary of a Homeowner

By JennyWrenny

Album Title challenge: Whatever People Say I Am

...That's What I'm Not. It could be argued that walking through Shields today, drinking my cough medicine for what I think may be a chest infection (futile I know), I fit right in with some of the more colourful characters of the town. A lot of judgements are made about a lot of the people I work with, but invariably people are not what they seem. I'll leave it there and not go on a bleeding heart liberal rant for the rest of the entry, but needed to make a link for the challenge ;-)

I've always had a real soft spot for the people of North Tyneside though, ever since I started working here 6 years ago and as I sat down to wait for my metro today, an old man got talking to me. I was feeling unusually social (whatever people say I am, that's what I'm not!) and he began to give me a run down of the mechanics of the metro system before telling me a story about Laurel (who used to live in Shields and I have blipped before) and Hardy. Apparently the last time they appeared on stage together was in North Shields in the building on the left of this blip, which used to be a theatre, and he saw them perform there. He tells me that Stan Laurel was exactly the same in real life as he was on the stage and he maintains that they were the best. And who am I to disagree? No-one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.