Vital Sparks

By VitalSparks

Butterfly #3

Where are all the butterflies ?

I have to report they are not many to be seen near me. In the morning I spent time watching out where ever I was and saw none at all.

Walking the streets in the town with some lovely garden flowers and plenty of sunshine - none.

So I thought a visit to the park would do it. Half an hour, mostly in sunshine around the lovely Howard Park (as seen in one of my previous Blipfotos) with my sister revealed a grand total of none. She couldn't believe it either.

OK a different habit was obviously going to be required so off to the start of the Longdendale Trail in Hadfield. After a few minutes walk we were seeing some butterflies but they were all Speckled Wood around 8 or 9 in total.
My first butterfly blip so no good for today. Time to move on and try again. Back to the car - there's one -Peacock ! (yesterday)

On we go not giving up- one more Peacock in Padfield village but nothing new. Peak District National Park Visitor Centre Car park at Torside Reservoir in Longdendale was the next stop.

We think of this as a good place to see butterflies especially a former overflow car park which is now a picnic site - none, zero !

At last in the main car park a Small White was spotted, settled and snapped. Not a good photo as shadows are over the wings but I have to say I was just glad to be able to continue the set - at least for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.