bad data

At some point earlier in the year there were only seven of the team in one particular day, perhaps due to it being a bank holiday or half-term or something. As it happened, that was the day that the intranet informed us of an initiative to try to slightly reduce the speed at which the health of office-bound people declines by getting them to form teams of seven people whose daily step-counts would then be recorded by means of a pair of free pedometers, hopefully encouraging more lunchtime walks and less use of lifts and so on. Whilst a conversion from cycling-miles to steps is provided it's something parsimonious like 391 steps per mile. Given that I would walk about 5,400 steps if I walked the 3.5 miles to work over about forty minutes it seems unfair that the same time cycling over the same sort of terrain (but at a noticeably higher work-rate (even when I walk fast I'm not exerting myself quite as much as when cycling, which is more of a jogging sort of output)) would bag me ten miles for which I would be awarded only 3,910 steps. Of more concern is the fact that both pedometers are already quite clearly banjoed, with one able to be rattled quite roughly without it registering any steps at all and the other only picking up the odd one or two here and there, as exhibited in this comparison between it and my old phone, on which I ran a step counter app daily for almost two years and which I have now resurrected in order to more accurately count my steps for the remaining week or so of the corporate walking counting thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.