chrislewis

By chrislewis

Quartermile

Edinburgh's 'Quartermile' development, as seen from The Meadows.

Had to take Adam back to Sick Kids Hospital this morning to get his arm checked over - there's a strange growth where the broken bone was. Turns out it's completely 'normal' and will sort itself out over time. The processes involved in bone growth and the ways the body can repair itself are truly fascinating. I wish I understood it better.
After we got out we took the long way home. Missing another 15 minutes of school wasn't going to kill him and it turned the trip into a fun morning out.

In many ways this photo illustrates what I love about Edinburgh. For those who don't know the city, The Meadows is a huge park just south of the old town. I'm struggling to think of another city with such large green spaces so close to the city centre. I also love the way the new development mixes in with the old hospital buildings. I'm less in love with the idea of selling the old hospital so that developers can turn it all into expensive flats and shops but that seems to be a common practice these days.

Been struggling for blip inspiration recently. I got tired of just shooting household objects and trying (and generally failing) to make them interesting. So I took a break. Not sure if I'll go back to daily or just post when I've seen something interesting. Haven't decided yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.