Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

New in, Old out

As with all things at the start of term - larger, newer clothes for older smaller ones is just one of many moments in life we always cherish. Sad, but always remembered.

With the Walkman, size (auto) reverses! Sorry for the pun, but couldn't resist. I dug these marvelous machines out the other day and thought we could have some blip fun with them today. I, being old hat, am trying to play a Stone Roses tape. My wife is still trying to sing better than any of the Abba's. And my son is trying to open the latest Walkman (MP3 Player!).

Happy Cassette memories:

Skillfully compressing, with a bic biro, ALL of the 90min worth of tracks AND artists onto a card merely bigger than a credit card.
Making our own, personallised covers from magazines snippets.
Breaking off the tabs so that your brother does not accidently record over your prized asset.
Colour coding the spines.
Carrying spare batteries.
Buying rechargeble batteries.
Though I don't miss the hiss, nor the wonky sound in high heat/flatt batteries, nor having to FastFWD/Cue at the end of each tape.

Thank God the Sony Walkman moved on with Windows! I will always keep the oldies though - I have a Discman somewhere................

It was fun explaining all this to my son.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.