A Snapshot a Day

By AgathasMum

Mangia e Bevi Always Makes a Bad Day Better...

Had a very frustrating day.

I'm a bit obsessive about planning. When it comes to trips I am the Uberplanner General. I am currently the proud owner of a huge binder with all our info for the Europe trip neatly arranged inside it.

On Sunday I decided to go for the last phase of planning - sending email reconfirmations to all the hotels and tour operators.

Then things went downhill.

The hotel in Venice is denying all knowledge of a reservation in my name even though BA who I booked it through to get rid of my airmiles says I do. Hilton central reservations thinks I may have a reservation under Tom's name, but it might be another person with the same name... Hmmm booked on the same day I booked, for the same dates? Highly coincidental, but if there are 2 of them and one reservation, it's ours now as I had the man put Tom's HiltonHonors number in the booking!

Then we find out that Lufthansa are striking. Huh? We booked with United and Lufthansa because BA always seem to go on strike when we book with them. So I decided to pre-empt any panic and reroute our flights via Munich instead of Frankfurt, and take an Air Dolomiti (yes I know they are a Lufthansa subsidiary but they are not meant to be striking) flight instead.

There was a 3rd irritation, so as that has now been resolved, I hope we are good to go.

After all that I didn't feel like cooking so went to Mangia e Bevi and Tom had rockfish and I had chicken marsala to make me feel better. Mangia e Bevi always does the trick!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.