New lamb

This little fellow is proving to be a bit of a challenge.  He was born this morning and is about 1/2 hour old in this pic.

Usually the singles are the easiest but this boy just didn't want to drink and was more inclined to curl up and sleep.  (He was awfully big and I had to help mom at the end so maybe that set him back a bit.) 

After trying and trying to show him the way to mom's teats, squirting some of her beautiful milk in his mouth and next trying to get him to drink some milk replacer from a bottle, I finally took some milk from mom and used a syringe to get it in to him.  That perked him up and the next time I checked  the barn, he got up and had a drink on his own.  I guess he didn't want to go through the syringe ordeal again...

Will check a couple more times before bed but I think he'll make it now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.