But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Allium paradoxum.

I hope I have the ID correct on this flower, otherwise I’m going to look a right prat. The local woods have two species of wild flower smelling of garlic; one is the wild garlic (Allium ursinum) with a globular cluster of flowers, and this one which I have been trying to identify for several years turns out to be the fewer-flowered garlic (Allium paradoxum) which can be toxic if eaten in large quantities by some mammals. It was introduced to Britain from the mountainous regions of the Near East nearly 200 years ago and first found in the wild 150 years ago near Edinburgh. It is now considered to be a non-native invasive throughout Europe and grows well in deciduous woodland smothering natives such as snowdrops and bluebells. However, here it seems to live in harmony with our local wild flowers including the two just mentioned and flowers earlier than the wild garlic so doesn’t hybridise, though I suspect there is a genetic incompatibility as well.
 
If anyone knows better and can identify this for me, I’ll be very grateful and will re-write the text.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.