Tuesday: The Last Waltz

Ever since I saw the film in the late 80s I have been a big fan of Martin Scorsese's 'The Last Waltz', featuring The Band's last concert which they gave in San Francisco in 1978. I used to have the soundtrack (not sure where it is now) and know it inside out.

So when I saw that a number of musicians, including Levon Helm's daughter, Amy, were marking the 40th anniversary I just had to get tickets.

In anticipation of tonight I made K. watch the movie this weekend. As for the concert, it was good - really it was, but it wasn't the full rendering of 'The Last Waltz' that I thought it would be. There was quite a lot of 'and here is one of my own songs' snuck in there..........but, that said, 'Helpless', 'I Shall Be Released' and 'The Weight' were all outstanding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.