tims

Here again is Tim (I always liked that portrait even though the focus is off, centered more on his mouth rather than his eyes). Today's shot is from Gyde's office across the hall (Leah informs me this is an Ikea pillow as she once had it too). Well, I hope Tim doesn't mind me Blipping him once more!

Indeed, today I started my first round of portraits of the graduate school faculty for the department's website renovation. I suppose today's Blip could be considered an outtake (Tim's darkened eyes here come, I think, from the combination of backlighting and foreground artificial lighting; the shot for the site is of him standing in front of a tree with much more even lighting--will link it for you all when the site is up and running!). So, I think I need about eleven more folks, but as one of the professors mentioned in an email, coordinating schedules with all of these folks is akin to herding cats. But spacing this project out over a week or two is the best way to go as I have so much else going on right now between grading/planning and reading for my own courses.

It was nice getting to know some of the faculty a bit better, some even for the first time. One professor in particular, also named Tim, and that I knew only by name (I've never had a class with him yet, regrettably), turns out to have quite a bit aligned with me as far as reading/film interest go (plus he lives in Fort Worth which is neat as most of the instructors I've met live over in Dallas). I think he will be playing a big part come committee-forming time, only he doesn't know this yet. Though he will soon because by this semester's close I will be concentrating so much more on this logistical/administrative stuff related to my degree.

And with that, I'm signing off. Need to get some grading done so I can make headway in the new Murakami book I've finally started. Having some outside reading is mandatory to balance this all. Yes.

Cheers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.